RSS

Black Powder Underway

17 Apr

Well, kind of underway.  I placed my first order for figures to begin building my Hessian force for the Black Powder rules.  My local game store was not able to get the Perry Miniatures figures I wanted, so I had to go out to the web, specifically to The Warstore.  I placed my order last Thursday and was notified that they shipped on the same day; I expect to receive them this week.

I ordered 4 blisters of 6 figures each of Hesse-Cassel musketeers advancing at shoulder arms.  Twenty four figures are just enough troops to form a “standard” sized infantry unit in the game.  In addition, I ordered a blister of Hessian command figures.  Once these arrive, I will have enough figures to form one regiment.  Armies in Black Powder are typically organized into battalions of 3-5 regiments each for command purposes, so I have a lot of work to do (and money to spend!) before I have a force to play with.

I don’t mind too much about that though.  I’m actually looking forward to painting these figures up.  I’ve been working with 15mm figures lately for Flames of War, and they drive me nuts because of the small size.  Painting 28mm figures will be like a vacation I think; I haven’t done any 28mm in a long, long time.

Speaking of painting, I was introduced to a great book by my friend Jonathan from CWF Gamecast.  The book is “Foundry Miniatures Painting and Modelling Guide” by Kevin Dallimore.  I’ve read the first few chapters and am impressed with the book so far.  Dallimore gives step by step instructions for his styles of one, two, and three color figure painting.  He illustrates the techniques using various model types and he paints the same figure, a Prussian Fusilier in one case, using all three methods to fully display the differences between the styles.  I’m not the greatest painter around;  I’d say I’m at the opposite end of the spectrum from the greatest painter, but Dallimore’s methods seem manageable by someone like me and I’m excited to try them on my Hessians.  I have some unpainted Old Guard Grenadier figures from Perry that I’m going to practice on first.  If things go well, maybe I’ll chronicle the process here with photos.  If you don’t see any photos, you’ll know how it’s going.

 
Comments Off on Black Powder Underway

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
